ST. MARK'S ANGLICAN STUDENT CHAPLAINCY 

Let the world proclaim Christ Jesus

                Rev'd. Peter Geoffrey Day

Born in East London in 1947, one of 3 brothers.
I was raised in the Methodist tradition my parents being staunch Methodists.
My schooling was nothing special, in fact it wasn’t until I was in my teens that I started to take an interest in my schooling. I passed my 13plus and attended Kilburn  Polytechnic in North London.
My first period of employment was as a trainee draughtsman  for an engineering company, and whilst working there I attended Willsden College of Technology achieving my City & Guilds in Mechanical and Electronic engineering.
I worked as a qualified draughtsman for a contract company in Borehamwood which saw me working in the aircraft industry, working for a time in Bremen in Germany.
On being made redundant in 1972 I decided on a career change and moved into the field of electronics in the TV industry becoming a qualified TV service engineer.
I continued in this field until I retired in 2007 when I moved to Cyprus.

I first met my wife Joy on New Years Eve 1967, engaged in 1968 and married in Matlock in Derbyshire on the 26th April 1969. We have one daughter Julie Louise and two grandsons Joshua and Jake.  They live in Cyprus , Julie with her partner of over 10 years Nick.
Joy and I recently celebrated our Golden wedding anniversary.

We started our married life in Bedford, England, living also in Watford, Clacton on sea, and now living in Xylofagou in Cyprus.

My spiritual life took on a different change of direction when I experienced the calling to preach the gospel in 1982, and under the control of the Methodist church I undertook a 5 year course in Christian studies and became a Methodist Local Preacher in 1987
In 2009 Bishop Michael of the Cyprus and the Gulf asked me if I would consider becoming a reader and 20011 I was licensed as a Reader in the Anglican church .
In 2016 I felt the calling to ordained ministry and in 2018 I was ordained a deacon and in September 2019 I was ordained a priest in the Anglican church.

I enjoy playing the piano, passing all my 8 grades with the Royal Academy of Music in London, and teaching for a while in Cyprus. I occasionally give recitals . but enjoy just playing on my own.

I love Cricket, and Golf, I enjoy painting when I have the time, and enjoy being on boats, once Joy and I having our own cruiser on the Norfolk Broads.